Fangirl

2016-11-23-20.48.45.png.png

Hey everyone,

I said a few weeks ago that I would review this book by Rainbow Rowell so here it is! I seriously loved this book; I’d already heard so many good things about the book before so it was only right to get it and I can honestly say I couldn’t put it down! It’s similar to Eleanor and Park so if you’ve read that book, you’ll definitely enjoy this one too.

The book is funny, sweet and you cannot help but love all the characters as they’re real and down-to-earth. Cath is starting university and at the same time is experiencing being apart from her identical twin Wren for the first time. Rather than sharing rooms and clothes, as they have all their lives, Cath and Wren have decided that they should start uni and new friendships alone. Whilst at uni Cath has to deal with stress from her classes, her family, her growing followers on her fanfiction site and her new friends/relationships too.

Cath is anxious about the wider world and prefers to hide in her room or the library with books and her computer; where she writes ‘Carry On’ a fanfiction. It’s not until Cath meets her new roommate Reagan that Cath becomes more comfortable with new people and situations. Levi also helps Cath by being a friend and being on hand to have emergency dance parties with ūüėČ

I connected with the character of Cath because she is anxious in social situations and finds it hard to deal with a lot of change all at once. This highlighted how real the characters are; the “does that boy like me?” and “how long before I text back?” situations to “being scared of your teachers so just walking through the building before you can even knock on the door” situation. University is a daunting experience for anyone let alone someone who’d rather sit in a dark room alone all her life.

In between chapters there are extracts from Cath’s fanfiction and although this was an added part of the storyline, I didn’t feel it connected somehow so I just skipped them! However, the ending showed that anything can happen (yes, now I do have Ellie Goulding in my head!) and that it might not be what you want at first but it’ll shape you for the better. The book also includes cartoons and pictures of the characters so I thought this was a nice touch.

All I can say to you now is read the book! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did and if you have already read it, let me know what you thought of it. See you soon- Alice

Leave a Reply

