National Book Lovers Day!

Seeing as today is National book lovers day I thought it would be cool to share with you my top 10 books!

1) Harry potter (series) by J. K. Rowling

Harry Potter is an amazing, famously known series that can still be enjoyed today. The movie adaptations of all the books portray the series…magically! The books are my all time favourite series that I can guarantee anybody, of any age, will love. The new Harry Potter and the cursed child play is currently touring and with thousands of tickets being sold, the next update of the Harry Potter story is a massive hit.

2) Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter

I was introduced to the film version at Christmas by my mum. As a book and film she enjoyed herself as a young child, I was interested to see something that she held as special to her and I think this is why I lived it too.

3) Little women by Louisa M. Alcott

Another Christmas movie I was introduced to by my mum. But this time I loved the film because I saw a bit of myself in Jo with her love of books and reading. The book was written my Louisa M. Alcott in three installments (the film tying all three of these stories into one.) However, I am yet to find a copy of the two later installments.

4) The perks of being a wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This is a coming-of-age story that deals with issues such as sexual abuse, identity, “madness” and love and friendship. Charlie is the narrator of the book, tells his story in form of letters to an unknown correspondent. However, he never sends the letters so you are left wandering what he’s writing for. In the film, Charlie is played by Logan Lerman, Emma Watson plays Sam and Patrick is played by Ezra Miller and the film is a great portrayal of the book.

5) The curious incident of the dog in the night-time by Mark Haddon

When I read this book I couldn’t get over the everyday basics that Christopher struggled with because of his Asperger’s syndrome. While taking into account this, the reader has to also keep up with a murder of a dog that Christopher is trying to complete. Christopher sometimes leads off into rambling about unnecessary things and then suddenly comes back to the problem at hand, giving real insight into the way his mind is working.

6)All the bright places by Jennifer Niven

Jennifer Niven’s book deals with issues of suicide, depression and young/first love. This book is one of my favourite books purely because of the way such issues are handled. Violet and Finch are relatable characters and their situation makes you want to laugh and cry along with them. (I also have a separate review of this book on my blog.)

7) Heidi by Johanna Spyri

Heidi is probably a lesser known book included in this blog. Heidi is placed to live with her Grandfather in the Alps, the pair become close and when Heidi is sent to live in a different town, they are both determined to stay happily living together. This book is one of my favourite because of it’s happy ending and loving characters. I read this when I was 12 and the Alps resembled a place for Heidi to play and be free and the animals were her friends and confidante.

8) Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Jane Eyre was a strong-willed female character, something that would have been odd for readers of the time. This and the romance between Jane Eyre and Mr Rochester appealed to me because the language between the two lovers is beautiful and romantic. (I also have a separate review of this book on this blog.)

9) Noughts and crosses (series) by Malorie Blackman

This series is 4 books long and follows the lives of Callum and Sephy and then their daughter Callie Rose and her best friend Tobey. The book deals with racial issues and the difficulty of unrequited love between two friends who the public believe should never be together. A sad story but touching and eye-opening too.

10) One night in Italy by Lucy Diamond

I read this book in November when my friend and I did a book swap; while I gave her girl missing by Sophie McKenzie I received this book. And I loved it! I have always wanted to go to Italy and this book allowed me some more insight into the destination… even though it did make me yearn to go even more! The story follows three women; Anna Catherine and Sophie who want to visit Italy for the first time (and in some cases to rekindle the love for the place that drowned their happiness).

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed reading this blog. Happy National book lovers day!- Alice

Leave a Reply

