The Harry Potter Tag 

This blog was inspired by Sammie at Bookshelves and Biros so go check out her blog!

The rules of the tag: No answer can be Harry Potter!!!

Without further ado, let’s get started…

1) A book where you found the theme interesting, but you’d like to redo it.

This book is not necessarily one I would completely re-write but if the book was to be placed in today’s time, I would change Stella’s decision concerning her husband and her sister. The decision she makes would have been appropriate for the time it was written as being a single mother would have been a hardship. But it made Stella seem too vulnerable and scared for a modern reader.

2) The first book in a series that got you hooked?

The ‘Throne of glass’ series follows Celeana, a young assassin as she becomes the best in Ardalan. With many instances of vivid fighting and heartbreaking tales, gripping from book one ’til book 5. (Book 6 coming out next year!)

3) A book you wish you could have right now?

‘Holding up the universe’ is Jennifer Niven’s second book and after LOVING ‘All the bright places’ I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of her newest book!

4) A killer book?

This book was amazing in showing how suicide not only harms the person but those left behind. Jay Asher portrayed suicide so that it was easy to understand from the point of view of the sufferer, whilst being sensitive. The book moved me because of how the boy (Clay Jensen) felt once he found out how the sufferer felt and took some responsibility.

5) A book that you found confusing?

This book did not sit well with me when I read it about 5 years ago. It could have been because of my age or me not understanding the context or words such as fae etc. But this book is on my list to read again to see if it’s any better.

6) Your spirit animal book?

I see a lot of myself in shy Cath in ‘Fangirl’ so this book fits this category perfectly. I also see a lot of my friends in the other characters (all good, of course) in terms of their support and encouragement towards me in circumstances.

7) A dark, twisted book?

‘Gone girl’ fits this category because of its twisted portayal of failed marriages and plotting a fake intrusion/murder. But, nonetheless, it is an amazing book!!!

8) A book that surprised you in a good way?

‘Jamaica Inn’ surprised me with the tough and feisty character of Mary Yellan. I also loved the portrayal of Mary’s attitude towards her uncle, Joss Merlyn and the relationship that grew between herself and Jem Merlyn as a result.

Feel free to leave any books that you think would fit into these categories in the comments! Thanks for reading- Alice

